Waxing - talcum powder, yes or no?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jessygwarnes

Reaction score
Hello, I have been trained to not apply powder before waxing because the powder causes clogged pores and ingrowns. Is this true? I trust my trainer since she’s been waxing for 30 years but I got my wax by her and I always wondered if powder would reduce some of my ingrowns.

I’ve been waxing for 30 years and I always use a thin dusting of talc before applying wax.
However, there are so many different brands and types of wax these days, the best advice is to follow the manufacturers instructions. Many of them offer training days so you can learn how to get the best out of their brand.

Personally I’ve never been convinced about any connection between using talc and ingrowing hairs. Why should there be- the talc comes off with the wax. Pores aren’t open until after the hair has been removed so therefore there should be no talc left on the skin once wax stripped off.

No doubt others will have other opinions but that’s my view and experience.

I haven’t been waxing that long (3 years) but I always use talc