Wella Koleston Perfect colour chart - help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Loulahbell

Reaction score
I'm currently studying to become a hairdresser, doing an NVQ2 at college and I need help with understanding my new colour chart. We normally use Redken colourants but I want to expand my knowledge and have been told Wella Koleston is a good brand but I cannot get to grips with the numbers used

Can someone explain to me the depth and tone numbers used is the Koleston range?? PLEASEEE!!??

I'm wanting to know things such as what colour-tones do the numbers stand for and what is classed as the 'natural' tone mixed with colous for grey coverage??

the first number is the depth and the following numbers are the tone as in every brand just some brands use letters for tones rather than numbers.tones are as follows:
0-ash
3-gold
4-red
5-maghogany
6-violet
7-brunette
8-ash blue
9-violet ash
Excample: 5.07 is depth 5 with a ash brunette tone
i hope this helps
sazza

Last edited:
Hey the I hate to correct but I've worked with koleston perfect for years, the tones are

0-natural
1-ash
2-cool ash (green)
3-gold
4-red
5-mahogany (all the cool tones plus red)
6-violet
7-brunette (all the warm tones plus violet)
8-pearl (blue)
9-cendre(violet-silver)

A colour say 5/73 for example is a light brown with a brunette gold tone. The first number after the forward slash is always the more dominant tone. :)

Bases
22/0 -black
33/0-dark brown
4/0 - medium brown
5/0- light brown
6/0- dark blonde
7/0-medium brown
8/0-light blonde
9/0-very light blonde
10/0- lightest blonde
12/0- special blonde (highlift)

Double bases e.g 55/0 is used for covering resistant grey/white hair

and colour touch which is a quasi colour uses the same tones too :)

Koleston covers up to 100% grey/white hair

Colour touch covers up to 50%
Colour touch plus covers up to 70%

Colour fresh covers up to 30%