What is meant by the term Sealing a nail?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dionne1

Reaction score
Forgive me i'm new to all this nail stuff and i when to a nail shop to find out some info on drills, they kept on sayin drill seals better than filing. Help me what do they mean?

There is a bit you can use with your E-File that is a cone shaped bit either called a 'prepper bit' or 'sealing in' bit depending on where your purchasing it. You can use it to gently tidy up around the cuticle and 'seal in' the enhancement. This can be done just as well with a hand file with the right technique. Of course product application helps as well.

I cant speak for e-files as I've never used one, but I can tell you that sealing in the enhancement with a standard abrasive is just as good a way as any and I cant see e-files being any better for this job (was this a sales person that told you that?). I've only ever used standard abrasives, and so I seal mine in with a 180. My nails do not lift, or very rarely, although proper sealing is only a minor contributor to preventing lifting, the real key to not getting lifting is good thorough prep, followed by good application.

I cant speak for e-files as I've never used one, but I can tell you that sealing in the enhancement with a standard abrasive is just as good a way as any and I cant see e-files being any better for this job (was this a sales person that told you that?). I've only ever used standard abrasives, and so I seal mine in with a 180. My nails do not lift, or very rarely, although proper sealing is only a minor contributor to preventing lifting, the real key to not getting lifting is good thorough prep, followed by good application.

I absolutely agree with this!

Thanks for that! I'm less confused now, guess i've got to use my 180 grit file a bit better

What does 'sealing in the enhancement actually mean' ?