What's been your experience in nail school? W/Question about CND

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Missashhh

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!
I've been following this board for awhile now and have made a few newbie posts here and there..but I am proud to say I am officially a student!

Anyway, I was curious what other's experience has been with beauty school?? Previously I completed a 2 year college degree where information and assignments were packed FULL into every minute of every class. Nail school doesn't seem to be ANYTHING like that and it's been a little disappointing/frustrating, even other students have expressed the same feelings. It seems like there's SO much to learn! However I find a lot of class room time is being totally and obviously wasted. We're learning the basics and getting to practice a little..but structure and instruction (or lack thereof) is honestly unlike any course I've ever experience (but maybe I'm comparing too much to college?).

I have a lot of questions about different brands and methods..do I just need to be patient? Do I have to wait to take classes w/brands if I want product knowledge.. Even if basic? Am I wanting too much out of this? I'm trying to remind myself that I'm taking this course to get some basics, get my service hours, and get my license so I can work.

Finally...I've read a lot on this board about the importance of using "systems" from base coat to lamps, through and through. I noticed at school we have shellac CND but the UV lamps are not CND brand? Before I even considered this school I verified that it is accredited through our State Board of Cosmo and many other organizationa recognize it as being accredited. I was just curious on the thoughts from others on this board about that little tid bit of information.

Thanks!

Sent from my SGH-T399 using SalonGeek mobile app

Bump