What's wrong with me?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ambur30

Reaction score
I have had my license since January and I just opened my own business in March of this year. So, I am REALLY new at this and since I live in a small town, I haven't really had a lot of practice in acrylics.

I have read all of the threads on preventing air bubbles in acrylics. I feel like I have literally tried each tip posted 20 times each! It's insane. I would like to list the steps I take for applying an acrylic nail and if you see anything wrong, please tell me. I STILL have bubbles in my acrylic. I am SO frustrated that I will not do another set until it's fixed. :irked:

Sanitize the nails, shape/trim (if needed), apply cuticle remover, push cuticles back and clean the surface of the nail, nipping any debris that's loose.

Scrub the nail with Scrub Fresh, removing all traces of cuticle remover and debris.

Gently buff the surface of the nail to slightly etch and remove shine.

Scrub the nail once more with Scrub Fresh, removing all debris and dehydrating the nail.

Apply tip. Trim and shape tip. Blend tip with natural nail.

Apply primer.
Beginning acrylic application, I press my brush to the bottom of the dappen dish to release air from the brush. I drag the brush up the side of the dappen dish, turn the brush and drag the other side to release excess liquid.

Dip the brush in powder and make small rotating circles. (I count to about 3 before taking the brush out of the powder.)

I count to 3 again (using the 'going-going-gone' technique someone suggested), and if the powder absorbs completely before I get to 3, I try again. If it's not all absorbed when I get to 3, I try again, until it's just right.

I apply the bead to the tip of the nail then count to 3 again, until the ball smoothes out and becomes like little rounded piece of glass.