Who Has A Hamster As A Pet?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrs.Clooney

Positive Geek
Reaction score
I am new to keeping a hamster as a pet, although we had guinea pigs as kids and loved them. We got Suzie, a Russian Dwarf Hamster, a few weeks ago, much to my husbands horror but mine and our girls delight, and wondered if any geeks love keeping hamsters as pets?

I am very keen to learn as much as I can about these cute little creatures and wonder if anyone can recommend a good Hamster forum for asking questions and swapping ideas as I am a novice in this area?

We love her very much as she is a sweetie but feisty. They don't live long but we want to make her as happy and as comfortable as possible. I have already read quite a bit about them, but direction to a good forum would be helpful, as well as knowing which Geeks I can refer to if I needed to.

Thanks

Here is our Suzie x

Attachments

• Mrs. Wiffles.JPG
    Mrs. Wiffles.JPG
    77.7 KB · Views: 50
  • Suzie Peeps.JPG
    Suzie Peeps.JPG
    41.1 KB · Views: 48
Hi there, we have a hamster called Scratch, she is a one year old Russian Dwarf. Such a sweet girl, very used to being handled by my 3 girls. The only thing is the girls are so good at getting out of the cleaning duties and muggins here gets to do it!!!

Sam x

Hamsters,aw lol,you want any advice Ive had plenty of experience :wink2:.Ive had Russian ,Syrian,Dwarf the lot I also bred some of them,when I had them,10 years ago.
The only disappointing thing is with them they dont live long enough and their nocturnal,which doesnt always make an ideal pet for a young child,and hope you dont mind me saying but Russian hamsters usually live in pairs,so she might appreciate a mate.:wink2: