Why I Am Not An Artist

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

veggie

Reaction score
*I posted this in my blog, and I like how it turned out, so thought I'd post it here :)

I was an art major in college. During my third year, one of my TAs, whom I loved and greatly admired, told me that while she thought my work was very innovative and skillfully executed, she felt it was mostly decorative. Meaning that it had no real deeper meaning or purpose other than to be nice to look at. And initially I thought, "What a crummy thing to say!" but also immediately knew deep down that she was right. My entire methodology centered around, "What would be a neat thing to do?"

But there is definately a market for that kind of work, so I thought, "That's what I'll do." I started making woodblock prints and printed greeting cards, working a part-time job on the side for stable income, and going to school part-time. And I did fairly well. People liked my work and they bought it, so I kept making it. It was fun at first, and quite an ego boost to have people pay for what I made. But after a couple of months I dreaded going into the studio every day. I felt like I was producing, not creating. Instead of thinking, "What would I like to make?" I started thinking, "What would people like to buy?" And I hated it. It became as boring and meaningless as any corporate retail job I'd ever had. So I quit. And I dropped out of school, for that and other reasons. I decided I never, ever wanted to do art for a living again.