Working with a chronic illness

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Movingforward

Reaction score
hi I hope someone can give me advice and honest replies please. I worked as a beauty therapist and enjoyed it a lot. Unfortunately I became very ill and for the past 12 years Iv not worked due to a chronic illness I have. Iv found it so hard because I was always so ambitious and this illness has has taken away and stopped so much of my life. My two young children are at school and I spend my days either feeling quite well and having nothing to do but sit indoors on my own or I’m feeling really ill in bed.

I’m desperately wanting to work again and trying to think of ways I could do this. My condition causes me to at short notice get very poorly where I can become bedbound for a day or a couple of weeks,but I also have phases where I can do quite normal thingsaslong as I don’t over do it.

due to the unpredictable nature of my illness I just decided I couldn’t work again yes there are lots of days I physically can’t work but I know I also have a lot of fear now stopping me, as I worry all I’ll do is let people down.

However I really want to get some quality of life back i would love to work doing clients and being social again but I’m trying to think of a way I could do this giving the nature of my illness.

I can’t do over strenuous things like waxing any more but I’d love to get into microblading but also more holistic therapies.

I was thinking something like I could have some kind of system where I could contact clients( once there built up) on the day offering discounted treatments if they can attend that day, or I’m trying to think say if I booked someone in and had to cancel on them then I could offer something for the inconvenience.

Sorry for the long message I just hope someone can help I’m 34 and just don’t want to spend the rest of my life this way Many thanks