Wrist pain, help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been a beauty therapist for 2 years now and my most popular treatment is massage.

I’m really struggling with my wrist and thumb pain and have tried everything to try to help it!
I’ve done exercises, Epsom salt baths, massaging with only my elbows and forearms and nothing is helping it!

I have tiny wrists so I don’t know if that could potentially be causing the problems?

If I go to the doctor can they do anything to help me?

It’s starting to effect most things I do (even typing on my phone is becoming painful) and it’s making me not want to do it anymore :’(

Just looking for some advice really!

Thank you[emoji173]️

A doctors visit will help to identify your problem, and then probably send you for physiotherapy .
Wrist strengthening exercises will help and maybe use a wrist brace(s) to help keep your wrists straight whilst in bed sleeping. I had my wrist braces provided by the physio dept at my local hospital
I use mine from time to time when I have a tendonitis flare up or my bones just hurt! Unfortunately it is your work and you need to make some changes to reduce the overuse of your hands.
I already have arthritic fingers and wrists ,so have almost completely stopped massage to save them from further wear and tear.
I use my elbows to really get deeply into the tissues if I have the occasional back massage booked in.
You may have to look in wrist saving new massage techniques such as :- Lava shells, hot stones, bamboo massage to name a few alternatives. Let the heat do the work for you..and you will be charging higher prices for the new techniques.
You need to make something else your most popular treatment for a good future ahead in the business, so i wish you well.
So off you go to your GP as your first step in looking after yourself.