Am I a NSS?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tamimac

Stringfellows Geek
Reaction score
Hi
I dont want to sound dim, but can someone explain to me what a nss is and am I one of them?
I studied with essential nails on a homestudy course. I AM properly trained and up to date with hygene and health and safety procedures. I am fully insured. This sounds daft to say Im clued up on nails and yet not know what nss means but bear with me.

Nss stands for non standard salon. They dont bother with a lot of prep and they use drills etc i think they also use a bad product for your nails. You are not one of these.

Phew! Ok, thanks guys.

Never ceases to amaze me how smallminded these issues can get.

Firstly, it doesn't matter what nationality the nail technician is. You walk a dangerous line when you start singling people out by their appearances and/or cultural attributes. Secondly, I note the photo on the Beautytech site on the link in this thread illustrates an incorrect grip on the drill/e-file, astounding when it's supposed to be extolling the non-virtues of nail products and "non-standard salons". Drills aren't 'bad' either but I find they are grossly misunderstood. They can be a useful tool - if you know how to use them properly. I find the majority of people who knock them, don't.

All this talk about standards. Whose standard is it, I wonder? After all, in the absence of regulation, I'm reading a lot of ad hoc tenets here and finding a few in the outside world as to what supposedly constitutes an acceptable standard. I'm not knocking anyone by the way, I'm just pointing out an observation.