Am I too old to train, where to train?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lauraddi

Reaction score
Hello everybody
I am completely new to this site and a complete beginner with no salon experience whatsoever. I am looking for a complete career change and to get in to nails. I love shellac nails and nail extensions and figured I would love to train to do this, but
A) am I too old? I'm 31 and have only ever done office work so would have to learn from scratch. Then get good enough to do nails. I've never been creative so would have no idea if I'd be right for the job. I was never any good at art so don't know if I could do nail art?
B) which course do I do? I've seen a complete beginners course for shellac, manicure,tips etc on 1 site it's about £300 and on the other it's about £2000!

I love how social the job is and the fact you can be quite free to work it around family commitments. Also I'm thinking one day if I moved abroad, nails are the same everywhere so you would have a skill and could possibly work abroad.

Any options suggestions, greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Laura

Hello everybody
I am completely new to this site and a complete beginner with no salon experience whatsoever. I am looking for a complete career change and to get in to nails. I love shellac nails and nail extensions and figured I would love to train to do this, but
A) am I too old? I'm 31 and have only ever done office work so would have to learn from scratch. Then get good enough to do nails. I've never been creative so would have no idea if I'd be right for the job. I was never any good at art so don't know if I could do nail art?
B) which course do I do? I've seen a complete beginners course for shellac, manicure,tips etc on 1 site it's about £300 and on the other it's about £2000!