Brands of monomer

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sórcha

Reaction score
Hi all, im new to the nail industry and was looking some advice......I have been trained with nail harmony products and my kit contains the same. I have ran out of monomer and went to buy more online and discovered this brand is very expensive, I wanted to know can I use a different brand of monomer (cheaper) with my nail harmony products, any advice would be great. Thanks:rolleyes:

Hi :)
I would never recommend that you mix brands, especially not with your liquid and powder system, this can lead to problems such as product breakdown ( your clients nails may experience problems such as breaking, lifting, cracking, chipping etc...)
Also there is a risk of 'overexposure' when mixing brands, which could lead to your client suffering adverse reactions...
And on top of these problems it could ruin your reputation as a technician.
Many clients are very quick to not allow technicians a second chance if a problem arises, So you could face losing clients too,...Who may then tell friends etc. etc.....

I DID mix brands once, One monomer with another polymer, only while practicing on tips, as I didn't want to 'waste my good stuff' ... what happend ! well it would NOT set, It just stayed rubbery on the tip, and would not harden up whatsoever.
Imagine the embarrassment if this happend while working on a client :eek:

If you are working out your prices correctly you really shouldn't find the price a problem.

Also you can make really large savings the larger you buy.
You could perhaps speak to your supplier and I am sure they will be able to help you with you price per service etc..

Emma x