Business Start Up Advice.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sara Satchell

Reaction score
I've been "doing nails" now since mid 2002, along side a part time job - which i left in October last year. I now want to get "official" and register etc etc but I don't know where to start. I have been self employed about 6 years ago as a childminder but I expect it's all different now. My profit after costs (but not tax/ins) is around £50 per week on average...

Some of the key questions are:

• Do I need an accountant?
  • Who do I need to inform (mortgage provider/inland revenue departments/council/House insurance/car insurance/national ins etc etc)?
  • Do I have to have a business bank account?
  • Do I need any permits as I work from home and mobile?
Any help is greatly appreciated....

I'm no expert but I'll do my best to help......

In the past I've been mobile, I now have a salon at home and move into my own premises next month.

You do not have to have an accountant unless you want help with your tax return.

You should register with the inland revenue as a low earner and opt out of NI contributions if you choose.

You should check with your mortgage company if you intend to work from home that its OK. Full planning permission is normally required to run a salon at home big style but keeping it fairly limited and casual with mostly freinds and family as clients I have managed to avoid that so far.

You will need public liability insurance and make sure your kit is insured. I've never adjusted my car insurance. Most people can drive it to and from work without a different premium and I never leave kit in my car unattended anyway.

You do not need a business bank account unless you feel the need to keep your business and personal banking seperate.

No permits as far as I'm aware.