Confidence problems

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dolled up

Reaction score
Hi Geeks (; its took alot for me to write this! let me start with abit of my background (sorry for the essay) . I am level 3 trained and my 3 years at college ended in 2011. Tried my hardest to get a job in a salon when i was fresh out of college but no luck ): i couldnt even get a non pay work experience placement whilst at college! (trust me to start a career as soon as the resession grips the country!)

I had been doing friends and family since i was a newbie in this industry and they helped me out loads being my models :) but after completing level 3 and no chance of a job unless i had 4 years of salon experience, i half gave up on the idea of following my dream (kind of easy when no one will give you a chance) but continued doing friends and family as i really enjoy doing hair. Me and my fiancè wanted to start saving for a mortgage but with my chip shop wage i wasnt going to be able to save 10p let alone £10k so i started looking for non industry jobs but no suck luck there either ): so this feb, while i was sat on my arse on the sofa looking at people on facebook promoting their home salons i thought why the hell am i just sat here doing nothing (i work evenings) when ive got qualifications and i can work for myself?! so i signed up on SG after being a lurker for a few years and researched loads into what extension suppliers to use, what insurance company etc... And decided i was going to start my home salon :D But when it came to reading threads about chemical work i was suprised to see how much i HADNT learnt at college! Never had i been taught to use 3% for lifting, never seen a mix tone, barely been taught to use toners etc and ive learnt most of this on here! I feel let down by my college & its nocked my confidence ): i tend to ask questions on here just for reassurance as i