Daughter having cartilage piercing - any tips?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blossom

Reaction score
My 15 yr old is having her cartilage pierced very soon - I was thinking we could maybe freeze the area with ice beforehand to make it less painful? Is this a bad idea?

Any other tips? thank you x

My 15 yr old is having her cartilage pierced very soon - I was thinking we could maybe freeze the area with ice beforehand to make it less painful? Is this a bad idea?

Hi im a professional body peircer I wouldn't personally use ice but it shouldn't be very painful as long as she's calm when people are tense it will always hurt because there expecting it! It going to be with a needle right? If its a gun dont let them do it! You can always pm me if you want any advice :)

<3 Stephanie <3

I've got various piercings on my ears and even vertical tragus

I've been advised that having a piercing where possible without numbing is always better as when skin is numb it tightens so not the same as normal skin so heals better.

Hope that makes sense?

Also definitely make sure it's with a needle not a gun.

Where in the country are you?
X

It really depends on which part of cartilage your daughter is getting pierced? It should be a needle not a gun for a piercing such as a cartilage.

I have 3 cartilage piercings and one was not sore and the other two were sore then more painful afterwards. Especially when they are knocked.

The one thing to remember with them they are not like normal skin piercings and that they can take up to a year to heal and to not over clean them.

My method of cleaning is a Tea spoon of salt to a pint of boiling water and stir well, wait till it cools and generally I use a cotton bud to clean properly into it.