Deposit

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Quiche

Reaction score
Hi

I am a newbie and after some advice.

I am working as a mobile make-up artist and looking to train as a nail technician and was wandering if it was correct to ask for a deposit to ensure that I don't lose out if they cancel at the last minute or is this just a down side of the job.

Quiche
xx

Hello,

I dont know anyone as yet that asks for deposits on treatments. In my opinion i think it would put people off. Within this beauty industry you have to kind of accept that there will be people that will cancel sometimes because they cant be bothered/changed their mind or for general emergencies that are more important.
I know it can be annoying but we have to take the good with the bad.

For the sake of your business i personally wouldnt.
hths x

Hi, I don't think it would be a good idea to ask for deposits on nail treatments. I do however think that with some job's it would be acceptable. I for example offer a bridal package, I ask for a 20% deposit after I have done a trial and the bride is happy to book final appointment. It is refundable if they cancel at least 2 weeks before appointment.

I imagine that it would depend on the job? The way I would look at is... If they intend to honour the agreement between you then they won't mind paying a deposit to secure your time, you are also commited to delivering the service you have agreed.

I have no experiance within the Make-up industry tho, so I would definatly take further advice from some one who does!

Good luck.

Sara