Extractor fan

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laylee84

Reaction score
Hi all,

I’m looking for advice about ventilation. I’ve read the threads on here but can’t find one that recommends a cheaper alternative to something like Ravair. One post mentions carbon filter extractor fans being around £100 but doesn’t mention a brand, and I can’t seem to find any for that price online.

I’m just starting out and have been offered a room in a barbers and hair salon but it’s a tiny room with no windows and no ventilation (I’ll be keeping the door open to help with that). I’ve seen the desktop dust collectors for around £40 on Amazon, so that would help with the nail and gel dust, but I’m guessing they won’t be a long-term solution and also they don’t help with fumes.

As the first few months will be building up my client base and working there part-time until I can afford to give up my other jobs, I probably won’t be doing many nails at first, so I can probably get away with something cheap and then investing in a more expensive fan in a few months time.

Can anyone recommend something for around £100?

Many thanks

I meant to ask if anyone has used Ravair’s £50 micro-ecology purifier and if it’s any good? It seems a nice touch to have in the room, and if I got a £40 dust extractor would that tide me over until i get more clients and I could afford to invest in the dust and fume extractor combo (£395)?

I have asked my college about all this earlier in the week but have received no response so thought I’d try here, as this site has been really helpful to read so far.

Hi Laylee84, welcome.

I’m not a nail tech, I’m a beauty therapist. I’m very interested in ventilation and also the benefits of houseplants. I did some slightly obsessive reading over lockdown.