Extreme breakage hair disaster

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hannah1991

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a beauty therapist with level 2 in hairdressing (though I don't practise hair) so I hope I'm ok to post this here.

I'm devastated. I visited my a salon I'd been to a few times and had scalp bleach every time. They use Loreal Infinie platine bleach and although it lifted brilliantly I was concerned about (minimal) breakage around the hairline and general discomfort having it done. I've been platinum blonde for a long time now and spend lots of time and hundreds of pounds on treatments to maintain the condition. In the past I've had foils and my hair has always been better then. So this time I asked for foils thinking it would reduce breakage, boy was I wrong.

I notified the salon when I realised what had happened who said it was my own fault for asking for foils instead of scalp bleach. I'm trying so hard to get my priorities straight but I've found myself so depressed, it makes me feel sick to look at my hair, my pride and joy. I'm leaving treatments on overnight and air drying with no heated tools. I'm balancing my protein and moisture treatments and all I can do now is wait for it to grow back. I cover it with a synthetic curly bun every day and that's the only style I can do, Ive tried 3/4 wigs but they are all too big for me :(

In terms of colour, also bad. Those pictures are a WEEK after the incident as you can see I have a lot of root. I'm too scared to have someone colour it but I need to in the future because not only have I been left with hardly any hair, I'm not happy with the colour! (Usually a clean creamy, icey blonde)

I'd be so grateful for any advice, this incident has really affected me and even my relationship with my boyfriend who I don't let touch or see my hair under my hairpeice.

[photos inviting critique removed]