Feeling confused about my career

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lashed11

Reaction score
Hey,

Has anyone else thought of / had a total career change from beauty? Because this is what's happening to me right now and I'm feeling a bit down and confused.

I have been working as a mobile therapist and also massage therapist within a Physio clinic for four years now. After spending so much time with the physios, I decided that I would love to be a physiotherapist.

I looked into what courses I needed to do, I enrolled, and then I applied for 5 physiotherapy programmes. Baring in mind I have four years experience of working in a Physio clinic, and also open uni biology modules... I didn't get any offers for ANY. :( pretty gutted to be honest. I really had my heart set. Anyway, I have appealed one of my 'rejections' because their reason was that my course I'm studying "does not articulate" with the Physio degree. Which is unfair because prior to applying I specifically asked the uni which course I needed to study, and they told me the course that I chose is fine and relevant! It's been a couple of weeks now and I have been told that someone will get back to me with either an explanation or even an offer.

In the mean time, since I have no offers, I have applied for another course that still has places: adult nursing. This course definitely still interests alot me even though it wasn't my original choice, but what can I do :( I will be surprised if I get accepted, but if i do i would accept the offer straight away! The uni did tell me to give it a go since they haven't had as many applications this year.

Anyways, so whilst all this is happening, i have been thinking of alternative career plans...I noticed on Gumtree an opportunity to start up a salon within a health centre/ gym. I have now had a couple of meetings with the manager and he is keen to have me on board.