Help with qualification

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Just Fake It

Reaction score
hi, im new to all this but im looking into training to be a beauty therapist. i have found a course with the open study college (i work full time so i needed home based learning) and the qualification gained is a level 3 NCFE award which says its similar to a nvq level 3 or a level. i just wanted to make sure this is a valad and insurable qualification before i splash the cash. thanks, kirsty

Hi Kirsty,
this is a difficult one. NCFE and OCN courses have been running for a while, and not widely recognised as is NVQ and City & Guilds.

I teach NCFE and OCN level 1 and 2 for a local FE college and they are eqivualent of nvq 1 and 2, so if you are doing a level 3 perhaps it will be recognised as equivalent of level 3 NVQ. The problem is it is not widely recongised in the industry so if you go to salons / spas for jobs they may not accept it.

Saying that, I have recently taken a very highly skilled course in Auricular Acupuncture and was amazed to see it as an OCN level. Next week I am attending a course at a local FE college and it is also an OCN course. So, maybe it is becoming more acceptable.

I personally would ring a few insurance companies and ask their opinion.

Try Beauty Guild : Home - Beauty Guild