I got picked to bits yesterday! Confidence drained...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ADiva1

Reaction score
Hi Geeks

Just need a bit of re-assurance this morning. I've been working the ocassional Saturday in a biosculpture salon since last December.

There are 2 owners, a nice one and a NOT so nice one! Yesterday the NOT so nice one picked my work to pieces - it was good feedback and I have learnt from it. What she picked at will improve with practise. But somehow I feel like really down....! How would you feel if your work is examined in front of all the customers and feed back given there and then?! Other techies saying 'oh I did it like that last year'. It was in front of two of my friends who came to do their nails too!

This is eating away at me! I've wasted so many hours replaying the moment in my head! I'm just beginning to think that this might be a habit of the NOT so nice owner whenever I work.....

Talk me out of this mood geeks!
Much loved xxxx

oh you poor thing , i had this once years ago when i was hairdressing , i had qualified and one of the owners had seen my work at college and thought i was pretty good, and gave me a job, when i went to work there , the manageress was a total cow , she belittled me in front of clients, tried to make out i couldnt do stuff , ooh i hated her, she even made me wash her hair in my dinner break (she had really long hair , and i had to use borax ) adn she stomped round the salon wearing a home made badge that said 'i am the manageress' god she was a total power freak,
anyway i stuck it for a bit , then walked out , it put me off working in a salon again though, which is a shame but there we go ,
dont let them treat u like muck, maybe have a quiet word and tell them it isnt professional to question your work when your client is sat there , and if they still carry on , find somewhere else , hth love dee