Income protection insurance ??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noo

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I am a mobile beauty therapist and have had income protection insurance - covers accident and sickness - in the event I can't work due to accident or sickness. The underwriters just cancelled policy and cheapest one I can find which pays £200/wk after 4 week deferred period is £18.99/mth.

I know a couple of mobile hairdressers and they don't have any protection - do any of you have this kind of insurance - if so, who with and how much do you pay (if you don't mind me asking!?).

Also - if you don't - why don't you?

Thanks!!!
A very undecided person...:rolleyes:

I used to work in financial services and just wanted to say, make sure you read the small print, because, if the policy covers you for £200 pw, I think you'll find, it won't actually pay out that much unless you have accounts to prove you have a net profit of that amount. From memory, I think they also take off the state invalidity benefit, so you would have to have provable income of £270 pw. This basically stems from the fact, you can't legally profit from an insurance claim.

You also need to check whether the policy pays out if you are unable to carry out your job or any job. Because of course there is a difference.

Sorry if I'm sounding sceptical! It's just that having worked in the industry I know how hard it is to get claims paid sometimes.

I personally don't have any income protection insurance. But that is because, my personal circumstances mean that I have some unearned income i.e. rent, a partner who can afford to support me, parents both still alive and solvent etc etc. So I guess my personal view is, if anything serious happened to me so I couldn't work, I would have to undergo a dramatic lifestyle change anyway.