Nail polish allergy, ways around it?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michienails

Reaction score
Hi I'm really hoping for help from some experienced nail techs. I'm a nail hobbyist, and I started developing a gel nail polish allergy and had to stop for the foreseeable future. But I have so many questions about ways to go around it and alternatives.

For one, if the gel polish is only on the nail, could it still affect the skin around it? this may seem like a silly question but I'm totally new to this. I've thought about putting latex peel around the nail to avoid any contact with uncured product? Do you think that could that work? I feel dumb even asking but I'm geniunely curious.

Also.. the allergy developed on my hands, so while my hands heal I've been thinking about test swatching different brand formulations on my toe nails to see if an allergic reaction occurs. This also seems silly but would the same allergic reaction on my hands affect my toes too? Or would I have to also test on my hands to accurately see if there's any reaction?

Now about alternatives, I heard HEMA is a common chemical that causes reaction so I purchased the Bio Seaweed Gel to test out. Are there any brands you would recommend using on clients with allergies that aren't too sure what exactly they might be allergic to?

I would really appreciate any knowledge on the topic! Thank you!!!

Your best way forward would be to get allergy tested so you know exactly which chemicals affect you.
Once you know this, you can then look at product ingredients and make an informed choice.

CFBS advice is the only way to deal with this. You need to request an Acrylate specific allergy test from your GP/dermatologist. Without knowing specifically what you are allergic to switching brands is pointless and may result in further exposure.