Opening up myself help needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thompson1

Reaction score
Hi guys

Some of you might have read the problems I was having in the salon I worked for.

I have previously owned my own franchise salons but the paperwork and finance and tax etc was all taking care for me and had nothing to do with it.

I have been offered my own salon to rent off a women who is in her 60's and is looking to retire.

I have never done this before and have always had things sorted for me and handed on a plate. I was wondering if I took on the salon I would need to rebuild my clientell and wondered if anyone has done this before as I am worried if I do this i wont be able to afford my house hold bills etc as some weeks i might have nothing when i start as its a brand new area. Can you claim any benifits when you start up to ensure your gaurenteed a min take home pay when you first start?

only thing you might be able to get would be child and working tax credits. starting a business isnt easy

if your renting you can ger housing benefit and council tax also even if your self employed.. going by how much you earn.

doubt it really............. everyone would be doing it wouldn't they??
if your renting off someone that is retiring where is the exsisting custom????
would she not do you a deal on reduced rent til you get on your feet??
i hada salon for 4 years and it took me 2 to build it up.. resulting in not much money at all for 2 years...
my advice is do most of the work yourself as much as you can... and maybe rent chairs/room out to bring money in by stylists/therapists that have clientelle already
good luck x

I dont think you're gonna be entitled to benefits as you are a business owner. I wouldn't expect any help if I had a bad year!
If you are taking over a salon, there should be clientelle there already, which will tide you over.