Pre pigment explanation please!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gemini_162

Reaction score
Ok I feel stupid asking this but I'm an apprentice in a salon here in Athens and I swear I know more about coloring than anyone I work with. Hairdressing here is archaic! We might as well just be apron-clad cavemen foiling with different shades of mud!
Anyway...can someone give me a run through of the whole pre-pigment concept? Lots of clients come in with this trashy, Greek, bleach- blonde and are nearly impossible to darken without serious fade. Nobody here seems to use pre-pigments so I have no one to ask. :(

Hi, basically if you think of the lightening process, for example you are taking a base 6 to a base 10, you are removing all the warm undertones, red, orange and yellow untill you get the required lift, so if you have to take a base 10 back down to a base 5, think what was removed in the lightening process? You removed red undertone so it needs to be put back into the hair before you apply your target shade 5, hope this helps, your basically putting back in what was removed during the lightening process, think of the lightening curve and all the warm undertones in each base colour x .

I personally use colour mousse, put it on the dry hair, blowdry in, then wash out as the red can show through too much if they want a flat base. Then dry again and apply the colour they want as normal, if going very dark, from a 10 to say 3 try using extra base.

Xoxo

Matrix colour sync!! Stops any need to prepig!! Choose your shade and apply! As long as it's not ash or neutral your fine! X

I personally use colour mousse, put it on the dry hair, blowdry in, then wash out as the red can show through too much if they want a flat base. Then dry again and apply the colour they want as normal, if going very dark, from a 10 to say 3 try using extra base.

Xoxo