Problem with contract!!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gemmima1

Reaction score
I have been working in a salon for nearly 4 years now and feel it is time to move on. But when I started there I signed a contract. It stated that if I leave ther I can't work within an 8 mile radius fo 6 months. Does this sound normal? Im not after pinching all there business but a few clients have said that if I ever left they wouldn't go to anyone else at the salon and wan't to follow me. what should I do? I'm worried that I will loose my existing regular clients if Im out of the scene for 6 months.....:rolleyes::grr:

Try contacting your local branch of the C.A.B. (Citizens Advice Bureau) ... they may able to advise you.

ACAS has help lines and a website with links to other employment help lines etc, it is for employees and employers.

it stands believe me , i have just had to pay soliciters costs of 2k to my old employers so they didn't take me to court over the matter, to all geeks out there please read your contracts very carefully xxxxxxxxxxx:hug:

Grr, that's tantamount to legalised slavery if you ask me!

OK, I have had similar clauses in employment contracts with permanent IT jobs - but that was that you couldn't work with a customer of the company you were working for for 6 months - which is fair enough, as if you're running a business, you wouldn't want to lose one of your staff to one of your clients.

But to put a geographical limitation on where you work seems incredibly fascist if you ask me. Does it only apply to work of a similar nature, or would they sue you if you got a job on the checkouts of the Tesco store just down the road for example???

I hope you find a clever solicitor who can find a hole in that contract and brand it as unfair, leaving your employers no leg to stand on!!!