Problem With Gel

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brady

Reaction score
Hiya hope you all had a lovely crimbo i have been using gel for 2 yrs now but i have recently been experancing some problems.
When i did my nail course we were told to take a bead of gel pace it on the strees point of the nail and feather it down to the cuticle and then to the free edge working it out to the sides so you build up your strees area.
But lately i have got 3new clients that like there nails very long (so i have built up the stress area for more strength but i have found that when innfill are required under the lamp at the thickest point on the stress area the product is lifting and only there? i have cured the nails for a further 2mins but still same prob

would you advised to do layers of gel gently building up the gel but this is quite time consuming!

does anybody have any tips please.

Have a happy new year

thankx

Hi Brady I always do a thin layer over the whole enhancement first then I do the builder layer.

All products go through a certain amount of shrinkage when they cure, and unfortunately gels shrink more than the other two systems. This can be exacerbated by the thickness of the product when you apply it, and what you are experiencing is a pocket lift caused by the shrinkage in this area. You would be better to apply it in 2 thin layers so that the products fully cures and reduces the amount of shrinkage. HTH x

Hi

What gel are you using?

The reason I ask is because I build up my stress area .... cure for 15 seconds and then apply the next coat. I never wait the full duration for each coat as it isn't necessary with the gels I use. I use Akzentz, NSI and Amore, if your gel system allows you to do this - you should save lots of time.

Vicky :biggrin:

VickyB said:
Hi

What gel are you using?