Room Rental

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hils

Reaction score
Hi All,

As a new therapist I have been offered a room to rent. The rental includes towels, bed, sink but no products etc.

How much do you think?????????

£15 per hour.

I know I am a bit new to all this but not totally stupid.

What do you all think?

Hi All,

As a new therapist I have been offered a room to rent. The rental includes towels, bed, sink but no products etc.

£15 per hour.

What do you all think?
An hourly rate?!?
That seems very odd to me, most pay a daily or weekly amount...
Rhiannon x

That sounds strange for hourly rate... I do 160 a week x

Yeah I thought it was a bit strange and working it out over the year it adds up to an awful lot of rent. £27,000 approx. Average over 5 working days of 7 hours per week.

This is a therapy centre and they have never rented any rooms out before. I don't know if they are just plucking a figure from the air. I have researched all the local rents and this is by far more expensive than anywhere else. The highest rent I have researched is £150 per week. This would cost me £525 per week.

The room isn't even that big.

Hi This is outrageous!! at £15 an hour even if you were fully booked and charging high prices you would be making nothing after product cost and tax etc.
i would try and work out either a percentage or daily/weekly rate or look for somewhere else.
I wish you luck in whatever you decide :)

I know of a therapy centre that charges £8 an hour. which is slightly more reasonable. My weekly rent broken down into the hours I work is something like £6 an hour. Then I have to do all my own laundry etc.

If it's a nice room try and offer them a weekly rate. Hourly rates aren't common for us because we usually work full days. It's more common for holistic/sports therapists, that do hourly treatments. x