Self employed and kicked out

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Murphysno1

Reaction score
I'm self employed in a salon working on a percentage basis paying my own tax and national insurance and advertising for myself , I've been at this salon for 7 years and last Friday I was told they are closing the salon for good on Saturday coming ... so I started telling my clients and all of them said "please make a record of my colours" . Well the book keeper who works upstairs decided this was theft so hid the self employed staffs record cards in a childish kind of way . No cards left the salon so I cannot see how this is theft and the clients had requested this , my personal clients I've been doing for 20 years so a long time before I started at this salon and I was under the impression that self employed are responsible for their own client records and list . The salon belongs to my partners mother and he called her last night to say I wanted to order the colours but can't now that the cards have been hidden and it all kicked off so me and the other self employed members have been kicked out over this , unfortunately the owners cannot deal with confrontation in any form so this is their usual reaction. Please note I did not ask my partner to call them he called me , I sounded upset and explained what had happened so off his own back he thought he would call his mother and try resolve the problem . Where do I stand ??

Well I am not sure about the UK but I know here it is up to the salons discretion to give up client information. However;
-They are closing. Why do they need it?
- If you are self employed you are legally in charge of your clients. The cards are legally yours as you are your own business as a rental (assuming its the same as what we have here)
- The clients should be legally allowed to collect their colour data.