The dreaded question....charging

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fluffy

Reaction score
Have just completed the creative foundation l&p course (still got day 5 to go) and have just sent off the form to get my insurance I am now able to charge clients.....BUT the big question is HOW MUCH? So far I've only done my Mum's and a couple of friends who I used as models.

My nails aren't too horrendous (I've seen worse put it that way) but obviously I'm still very new to this. How much should I charge for re-balances? and new sets for potential new clients?

Hi

I used to charge £7.50 a set when i first started and to be honest i never really had to charge for a re-balance cos most had come off by then..lol

The more confident you get the better you'l nails will become then you know to start charging a higher rate.

Hiya...you should def charge..and i wouldn't go too cheep either cos when you put ya prices up they dont like it...I was charging 10.00 for a full set when i was practicing with another gel, then i did the fdfc with Brisa and charged 15.00 for 1 month, after that i went to 30.00 for a full set, it was at this time that i did my ads...
how much would you be happy to pay for your nails ? you are using great products and have had great training so charge accordingly. Best of luck xxx

I would suggest you phone around some local salons and find out what the going rate is for your area.

When I started I decided to charge £15 per set until I felt I was up to the standard of the local salons who at the time were charging between £20 -£28.

The best advice I ever received was not to do anything for nothing - if you don't value your work then neither will the person receiving it.

Set your price to a reasonable amount - you have had great training and are using great products - do not underestimate yourself.