Urgent advice re: mens/lads haircut names

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Penners

Reaction score
Hi all, i have a trade test at a Barbers this evening, i'm taking my son in to do a short back and sides layered top. I've been doing mens hair for more than 20 years now, so can do anything but my sister said that kids will go in and ask for a specific style by name like 'v cut' i've established what this is but do any of you know of any other 'names'. bit nervous now, haven't worked in a salon for years!!!:Scared::Scared:

mohawk (mohican but frayed looking finish on the longer hair)
Beiber (long and over the face like Justin Beiber)

Cant think of any others sorry!!

i had a lad come in ask for a caeser :eek: had no bloody clue wot he was on about , i sooo need to do a mens refresher course , lol

thanks, i've done the beiber but found some lads don't want it described as that:lol: caesar - is that complete with a ring of leaves!!

thanks, i've done the beiber but found some lads don't want it described as that:lol: caesar - is that complete with a ring of leaves!!

This is why I confirm what they want even if they say a name, if they confirm then when it's done say oh no I didn't mean that!! I re cut it and re charge them aswell!! As it's eaten into my next appointment! Harsh but they don't do it more than once and all come back! :)

OK, got a few more from Wiki,
Fauxhawk - like the Mohawk but without the shaving
Devilock - shaved short hair with 'tail' at the front!
caesar cut - where its all combed forward with a fairly horizontal front line
Psychobilly wedge - cross between a mohawk and a pompadour.

No mention of a v cut, from what I understand this is shaved from sides to the back leaving a v shaped section of unshaved hair at the back which is then layered and gelled or left flat?? would this be similar to the classic undercut of the 80's?