Not sure if I should take the salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm looking for some advice please. I'm a holistic therapist with some basic beauty training, facials, manicure, pedicure, waxing and lash/brow treatments. I'm setting up a new business as I've been ill for a few years so I'm basically starting from scratch again. My plan was to be mobile but only as a holistic therapist, I can't work from home as we don't have the space and I can't find anywhere to hire a treatment room locally but an ex beauty salon has come available just where I'd like to work. Nobody in my local area offers holistics at a salon, there's a few beauty salons and nail bars around but that's it. The rent is affordable as my husband has said he'll pay all the household bills. Part of me want to take the chance, I've owned my own salon before and been self employed for about 20 years, but I feel that I have to offer beauty treatments to help get customers through the door and I've not done them for about 4 years!!! Facials I'm happy to do but waxing, mani & pedi I feel I'd be letting the customer down as I'd take ages. I would have space to offer a nail tech a permanent desk which I could charge a weekly rate for. I'm just after some input really...... What would you do?

Get to grips with waxing if I were you. You can earn a lot per hour compared with say a pedi. Where I work a pedi is £28 for an hour whereas I can earn around £60 for a full leg wax bikini wax underarms and brows all in one hour. Good luck

As above. Waxing and nails really are your bread and butter. I went the other way - all holistic then added beauty which was a life saver as my hands deteriorated.

Good luck

Vic x

Thank you ladies, I appreciate your comments. I'd better start practising!!!!