What were you qualified in when you set up shop?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PinkSwoon

Reaction score
Afternoon everyone :) Hope we are all doing well!

The title of this thread is self-explanatory really. I have a big idea in my head of opening a salon and ultimately that is what I want to do. I'm going back to college to do L2 Beauty Therapy (Makeup Route) for a year & then L3 Media & SFX Makeup after that but obviously I'm worried this will not be enough, especially as I have no previous salon experience! I know that learning in college is never enough anyway & it's just the basics, you learn more when you get out into the industry which is understandable.

What were you qualified in when you set up shop?
In your professional opinion, do you think it's even possible for someone to set up their own business without any work experience?

Thankyou in advance for any replies :) they would be really helpful!

x

Ps. I have searched & it didn't amount to anything useful.

A little bump :)

Hiya, when I set up my business I had my Level 2 and 3 beauty therapy, spray tanning, body wraps, deep tissue massage and advanced massage techniques and was starting my level 3 in sports massage.
When I qualified in level 2 I started working from home and always continued to do so throughout the years.
I had 2 years salon experience then a break while I had my kids, then threw myself back into it, setting up my business properly and have since qualified in microdermabrasion, had 1 to 1 training for gel nail enhancements and nail art, qualified in fashion and photographic make up and am about to undertake a special effects make up course and have a few more courses planned.