Allergic to nail products?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cloverhill

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm just wondering if anyone who offers shellac & Brian lite smoothing gel, has ever had an allergic reaction to any of the products? Be it IPA or acetone etc?

I've been offering these for a couple years now and just recently (past 2 months) my head & scalp have been torturously itchy, but not a flake in sight?!! My pharmacist said it could possibly be the smell of the IPA/acetone etc that I have right under my nose at my nail station!! [emoji37]

Had this happened to anyone else? If so, what have you done to help? Wear a mask perhaps? I'd be delighted to hear any remedy no matter how small you think it is, as I'm absolutely NOT going to stop offering these treatments!!

Thanks for reading x

If it is what the pharmicist is saying then I would do the following: wear a mask; keep all products covered when not in use i.e. bottles of acetone, wipe off, monomer; use a desk extraction (I'm not sure if these extract smells or just dust; any cotton/lint pads/couch roll that you have used with any liquid products throw straight in a pedal push bin. Remember, most of the liquid products used evapourate over time so the quicker you remove used pads the better. Also, I always cover my monomer in between hands, or nails sometimes if i'm working a little longer on one nail than another.

Hope this helps.