Client sick during treatments

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KeiKei

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
Just a bit of a vent and its going to be a long one!:oops: Yesterday I had one quite difficult client session I've ever experienced. I'm a spa therapist and I had two clients for a Half Day Spa. One was a young girl in her early twenties and the other was her grandmother.

They had lunch as part of their package at the connected resteraunt to our spa and they both had prawn & avocado as a starters and chicken caesar salad at 12pm and came back at 1pm. Their treatments of a 30min BNS massage and 30min facial both started at 3.30pm.

I had the young girl as my client and she seemed perfectly fine when I consulted with her, asked about medical history, massage pressure etc. But during the BNS (swedish with pure grape seed oil) she seemed fine for the first 20mins and she occasionally fidgeted around a bit so I reckoned she was just getting comfy. Then she suddenly sat up and said 'I think I'm going to be sick'. I stopped and immeadiately grabbed one of my large mask bowls and she did vomit a lot :( I didn't panic while in the room with her. I just made sure she was okay just for a minute to quickly dial the hotel for advice - they told me to keep an eye on her and continue on with treatment if shes okay with it.

I have a huge phobia of being sick and would normally leg it right out of there but because this client was in my care I felt so caring towards her. I went back up and spoke to her (got rid of the bowl too:eek:) and she told me she feels better (better out than in type of thing) So I could carry on. Should I have stopped treatment then? Even though my colleagues said just carry on too?