Does anyone have an idea what this is?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hands_Only

Nail Professional
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a nail tech but this last week I have had this problem under my wedding rings and had to take them off on Thursday as it was really painful.

Over the weekend it got worse (painful when stretched).

Does anyone know what it is before I head off to the docs?

I'm worried its connected to my products :(

TIA
Angela

Attachments

• 20130825_154411.jpg
    20130825_154411.jpg
    130.2 KB · Views: 552
  • 20130825_154417.jpg
    20130825_154417.jpg
    131 KB · Views: 528
  • 20130825_154423.jpg
    20130825_154423.jpg
    132.5 KB · Views: 536
Looks a bit like contact dermatitis maybe a product getting stuck underneath your wedding ring? I have it with mine so I don't wear it that often but I haven't found out what causes it I've had it since I had my ring tho never had any problems with my engagement ring.

Looks a bit like contact dermatitis maybe a product getting stuck underneath your wedding ring? I have it with mine so I don't wear it that often but I haven't found out what causes it I've had it since I had my ring tho never had any problems with my engagement ring.

I've never had it before now. I'm wondering if it's a combo of changing water and product. I'm booking in with the doc to see what he says.

Thanks x

I get this sometimes..I have quite a wide wedding band, and over the years have been unable to wear my engagement ring..
I think its caused by not drying completely under the ring, moving it up, drying then down again, so its a form of dermatitis. At least that's my verdict, not being a doctor etc..:)
The engagement ring made it even worse, as soap was getting trapped between the rings too, so compounding the problem. The dr. will probs give you a tube of cortisone cream, as it can get very itchy and painful too!