Help!! How Do I Apply Tips To A Current Gel Overlay??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kim C

Reaction score
I am still relatively new to the Brisa gel. I had a client last week who asked for gel overlays which I did. At the end of the appointment, she said... Oh I though you were going to put tips on because I want them longer, although this wasn't what she originally asked for. So... she wants to come back next week and have tips put on. Firstly, can I do this now that she has overlays and secondly, how do I go about doing this correctly? Please can somebody help me. Many thanks :(

Three things you can do.

1. Convince the lady that in a mere 2-3 weeks her nails will have gorwn to the length she wants so why not just wait BECAUSE --- as she didn't make herself clear and remained silent while she watched you overlay a full set --- you will have to charge her for another full set if she has tips applied!!

2. You could thin out zone one until there is just a thin thin layer and then apply a tip to it and make the new overlay meet and meld into the old overlay. I would charge her for a new full set for this as stated above.

3. You could sculpt a new free edge to make them longer. Charge for a full set.

Hi Kim, it's also a good thing just to double check when a client asks for something that you really understand what they want.

When I ask clients about nail shape for example, they either say square or round, but this can vary so much from their interpretation to yours ie square square, or square with the corners rounded off ..... or almond round, or still square with the corners rounded off which they interpret as round!!!!!

Just a tip for the future!

Wow! what a prompt reply! Thanks soooo much for your recommendations I appreciate it.

Sassy Hassy said: