help needed please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blondee

Reaction score
:Scared: hi there just really wanting some advice, i have a client who i have been colouring her hair for about 5 years and i coloured her hair a few weeks ago and she had a slight reaction, itchy and little blisters around her hairline. she had a tattoo a few weeks prior and now i no this can cause a chemical imbalance. so maybe this was the cause. anyway she wanted the same colours this time so i gave her a skin test of a 3 (which i no contains the most concentrated ppd's but she wernt havin any of it) and also did a bleach skin test as i use a scalp bleach for the rest of her hair. anyway youve guessed it she had a reaction to the 3 not the bleach. so she is comin back into the salon on fri for me to do another skintest on a base 5. i just dont no what to do should i do it or just say your gonna have another reaction. its givin me a heart attack just thinkin about it. please help me on what to say to her. and also are there any bleaches or colours that dont contain ppd's. she defo still wants bleach though so am gonna say ill foil it and put cotton wool inbetween foils just to be extra cautious. do you think this is a good idea? and should i get her to sign something if she is insistent. i just dont no what could have caused this reaction. am sick with worry. any advise would be much appreachiated xxx

To be honest, if she's had a reaction and now reacted to a skin test, I wouldn't colour her hair. She will just react again and then your insurance will be invalid, not worth the risk. Stick to your guns, I get the feeling she will be insistent but I really wouldn't do it.