Hypersensitivity in therapists. Advice please!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicola goff

Reaction score
Hi
This is my first post on here and I'm hoping all you knowledgable girls can help me :)
I've been working as a therapist for 10 years now. And I think I've developed a hypersensitivity issue. I've got a really dry (furry type feeling) in my throat: and my eyelids are red, sore and go dry and flakey.
This started happening last year particularly when I was doing spray tans. However it's now happening even when I don't do any tans at all.
I've been on holiday for two weeks and it went away completely. This week I've been really busy at work catching up and it's now back! The main treatments I've done this week are mainly soak offs & new sets gellish & LVL lashes. I'm thinking it could be maybe acetone? (But then surely it would be on my hands and it's not?) - so maybe it's the lash perm solution? Inhaling of it alone maybe?
I love my job and have such a successful busy business - I'm slightly panicking this is just going to be something that gets worse over time!
Any help appreciated cxxx

You poor thing.
I became sensitive to st tropez years ago because I was in contact with it so much. I had red eyes and tiny red spots all over my whole body - not a great look!
The rash went when I took an antihistamine like piriteze.

Perhaps try taking a daily dose of piriteze for a week to see if it makes a difference.

See your doctor for proper advice though.

Be careful!
Buy some fume masks, barrier cream and ALWAYS wear gloves!
I did nails for 6 yrs with no problem and I now have a massive acrylate allergy and have had to stop doing nails. If you start become sensitive to things and you keep exposing yourself to them you will develop allergies and the symptoms will get worse.