Is what he's asking fair?? (rent)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tashastalons

Reaction score
Hi guys

I have been working selfemployed for two months now renting a space in a hairdressers.
Its been going ok but not as busy as id like.
The rent is on a 25% basis, at the moment hes recieving around £100 a week which I think is Pretty fair considering ive bought every bit of my stuff and have brought him business into the hairdressers.

Anywaybyesterday he took me for a drink and was asking me how i was getting on and that whether id be able to pay a fixed rate of £100 a week which could be impossible some weeks! or to pay him 30% of what I make which would make me even worse off! I told him id be much better off going mobile and if we could stick to 25% until after christmas and have another review.
I work tues - sat most of the time fulltime.

Please tell me what you all think do you think 25% is fair enough?

Thanks Tasha:confused:

What do you get included in your rent? Do you get exclusive rent of a beauty room? Reception facilities? Advertising? Use of phone etc? :hug:

i think that 25 % is fair ..if it was hair station id ask more..

but in your case this is what id ask for....
if he wanted a fixed rent it would have been better if he did that from the beginning or discussed with you that after x amount of time it would change over to a fixed rent or higher percentage.

what does he provide you with?

I worked in a salon self employed and had to give 50% to my employer, but she did provide all the products and equipment, just had to provide my own scissors. I never made much money though and now work mobile and am alot better off. HTH. x

Personally i think 25% is enough.