Self Employed Commission Basis

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lilly1999

Beauty
Reaction score
Hi guys, I was just wondering if I could get ur expert guidance on the commission split if going self employed on commission basis?

I have worked in the beauty industry for a while and I now feel like starting something of my own. And going self employed by having a room in an established salon looks to me like a good first step in that direction. I have no first hand experience of running a business and can’t take my clientele from my current work. So, I would basically be starting from scratch.

I am currently in talks with a salon owner- who I used to work for, and who is willing to offer me a room in her business on commission basis as follows:

Option 1- the owner will provide products and take 55% from every treatment (for example, if I make £100, they will take £55 and I will get £45). No reception help but will help with online booking.

Option 2- I will have to buy my own products, but the owner will take 25% and I will get the 75%. No reception help but will give access to online booking system.

There is also a 3rd Option of a flat rent of £50 per day. I will have to self-manage every aspect of the business.

Also, what would a contract for all three arrangements look like, and what important clauses need to be included in the contract.

Would a verbal arrangement be as reliable over the long term?

Should I create my own brand, business name and insist that it be included in her website and socials for promotion and bookings?

How do folks make arrangements for dividing the daily takings to maintain the trust and confidence in each other? Do people use any app or online tool to keep track of the number of treatments and daily takings that can be shared between the salon owner and self employed therapist for full disclosure and transparency?