Really confused about profit and loss

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tantastic86

Reaction score
Hey everyone can someone clarify something for me as I am a sole trader and doing my own accounts.

One thing I'm struggling to get my head around is this-

Say I make £5000, but my total expenditure(training & products) came to £10,000 = a technical £5000 loss

Would I then be submitting that I had LOST 5000 on the tax return and to tax credits. Or do you say made 5000 and spent 10000, and they get back to you?

This isn't applicable to me till next year, but I've been wondering this as I don't expect to be I profit in my first year

You declare a loss of £5000, so it shows as -£5000 in your return.

Vicki x

Thanks Vicki! I thought so but my bf whose a farmer has a really complex accounting system and got me all confused!lol

Thanks again xx

Yes I agree it is done as a loss, this can happen a lot when starting up a business, I have had 2 loss years one though illness and one though moving my business, and don't make your accounts more complicated than they need to be, what comes in and what goes out there's not much more to it than that for a sole trader in the hair and beauty industry, other industrys can be a lot more complicated because they may have to wait to get paid etc :)

Sent from my LT30p using SalonGeek mobile app

Is it common to make a loss? I've paid for my training and kit etc and expect to have weeks where I don't make much and I'm worried that when I tell the taxman this they'll think I'm lying. Please tell me I'm just being paranoid and irrational.

Is it common to make a loss? I've paid for my training and kit etc and expect to have weeks where I don't make much and I'm worried that when I tell the taxman this they'll think I'm lying. Please tell me I'm just being paranoid and irrational.