Supposed 'fully qualified nail tech' saturation

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kazzy70

Reaction score
I am just wondering how many have heard this lately, newbie nail techs having done 1 day course in manicure and 1 day course in gel application claiming to be fully qualified in nails!
I have 14 years experience and live in a small town, and am getting sick to the back teeth of hearing that 'clients' can get shellac (blue sky I may add) at the new home based nail techs for £8, and there are lots popping up in my area on F.B. pages.
Meanwhile as a salon on the 'high street' struggling to make a living, paying high rents and rates etc. Insurance has gone up too, making me wonder if it is a result of claims getting higher due to lack of regulation in the whole Beauty industry???
To add insult to injury they are being trained at a salon round the corner, who are charging a small fortune for these courses. I dont understand why you would want to do this, as eventually at this rate they will have trained all theres and everyone elses clients to do there own nails!
Im just getting so disillusioned and fed up.
It really is making a mockery of all of us whom have worked so hard at training and building up our business over the years with dedication. :rolleyes:

There have been a few posts about this lately and I agree it is frustrating to hear the' fully qualified' remarks, when of course these people are nowhere near being qualified, never mind fully qualified! Lol

Do you honestly think they are competing with you? Are your clients all trying them out for the cheap price? Do you think if they go that the service and results they get will come remotely close to that which you offer?