Thinking of becoming a hairstylist

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TSLexi

Reaction score
Hey guys, ladies!

Well, here's my story:

Up til now, I was a microbiology student at University of Leeds. I enjoyed the subject, but...around September of last year, I came out as MTF transgender, and my life fell apart. I got beaten up several times, my parents were unaccepting, and all of this threw me into a huge depression and I started failing classes because I just didn't have any energy. My parents cut my funding, and I was forced to return here to California. They also took all of my girl stuff (my hormones, 7" stiletto boots, my Illamasqua make-up kit, and forced me to remove my weave).

Currently, I'm looking for a job (the local liquor store is hiring, and I plan to go in next week to inquire) so I can restart my transition, move out, and pay for cosmetology school.

I've always been interested in hair and fashion and beauty, but I repressed those interests because my parents would be freaked. I loved watching my mom's stylist cut and color her hair, and I was so interested in the art behind it, and I wished I could do the same. When I had my weave, I would keep it elaborately-styled.

I've always considered myself more of an artist than a scientist anyway.

I plan to attend my local community college's (Cerritos College in Norwalk) cosmetology program, and work as a salon assistant during. Then, once I'm licensed, I'll apprentice somewhere do further training. Once I build up a client base, I'll rent a booth at a high-end salon. Maybe eventually pursue training in extensions and open my own salon.