Time Limits at Competitions

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kateyork1

CND Grand Master Geek!!!
Reaction score
Hi there Geeks

I am fairly new to this business and am thinking about entering competions in the future, does anyone have any advice they could pass on? - also how long do you get to do a set?

Thanks

Hi there Kate,
The usual time is 2 1/2 hours.................and if you do a search on Competitions you will find lots of info there....

Competing raises your skill level, raises your nail look awareness, raises your self critic, you become more aware of the work you are actually doing............
All the novice Competition geeks I spoke to this weekend, have all started to look at their nails in a different light......they are more aware of the way they are working and lines of light, apex lower arch and upper arch are now a very familiar term to them....and they have had their nail checked out by some of the best in the industry..... Fab feedback or what ........To me Competing is part of never ending education........

Tips:
Yea lots, get a good nail model, then practice till the cows come home or the products runs out, then get some more and practice again........
Look at winning nails, you get a feel for the look, if you can take a competition class or workshop, this will tweak skills and will help you to maximize your table time ...........
Be prepared to go through the "I can't blooming do this" phase........ and the "Oh heck why did I say I was gonna do it" spell....but also be prepared to have the best time ever there is to be had doing nails..............