waxing nightmare

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

therapyem

Reaction score
hi

im a fully trained therapist and i hvae one client that no matter what id do, when waxing her upper lip, a small amount of skin came off! this doesnt happen with any other clients and it is always in the same spot. i have told her today i wont wax that area again as i felt very bad when this it happened. when i wax other areas on her there are no probs- its just the bit above the lip and below the nose! i know the wax is at the correct temp-

can anyone give me any advice as to how i can prevent this or shud i just refrain from doing this area? i use tea tree wax- would i be better using a diff wax? any advice or comments would be most helpful. as i said, this problem only happens with this one client- and she still keeps coming back so at least it not put her off!

please help as i want to uphold my reputation in the industry too- if there is anything i can do, all commments most appreciated!
thanks in advance

em :sad: xx

Hi hun

Sounds like you are quite distressed by what has happened. But sometimes it's nothing we have done. Please don't beat yourself up about it. The best thing you can do is learn from this and it makes you better in the long run.

I once waxed a lady, well tried to do a bikini wax.Not ONE hair came out. I mean not one. Her hair was that thick and she had polycistic ovaries but I couldn't get my head round why it wouldn't work. In the end I thought there is nothing I can do about this so I will just let the worry go.

I don't think the wax itself would matter hun, it may be that she has very thin skin or perhaps is on medication that could cause the skin to be thin in parts?

I presume you done a client consultation to check her medical history?

Other things that it could be:

wax too thick?
Skin not pulled taught?
waxed more than twice over the same area?