Website Help Please?!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lainy82

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm just starting out and considering setting up a website. Can you give me any advice or help? Rough costings? And what does it mean by web hosting? Has it helped your business?

Sorry if I'm being dosy but never had a website before?!!! :)

Lainy. xxx

I have my website with Freewebs.com - Free website, free hosting, free webpage - Make a web site with photo albums, blogs, videos, forums and more!. It is very easy to build a good website with them and you can do it cost free. There are templates you can choose from and an online tutorial which is very straightforward. Keep it simple (ie no falling butterflies, etc).

You can pay to get premium status which means that you won't have any advertising banners showing on your website.

Do a search for "website" and loads of threads will come up. Pay particular attention to Seanny's threads. He has a very recent thread on "Frames" which will explain a lot to you too.

hi i'm getting a website done, i think it depends what you want it for really.
As a mobile therapist i can use my website to advertise to clients offers new prices, new treatments, after care and pre care. Its like my shop window i have as a base for example some new people who dont know who i am and what i do may be dubious about booking so the website lets then look at what i do and what i'm about. Like if you didnt like the look of a salon then you wouldnt go in!!
its costing me approx £400.00 i have a freewebs but cant utilise it enough as i dont have time and a good enough understanding of how to get the best from it as ive never done web design.
i think i have to pay about £8 every two years for the name and bit more for the desginer to host and maintain it, tho i swap her facials so that doesnt bother me as much!