What do you all do to protect yourselves?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kismet

Reaction score
Hi all!
I have been a nail tech and estetician for nearly 14 years now. I have never been big on wearing a mask when filling or gloves. I have also never worried much about ergonomics. But now that I am (eh hem, choack) getting a bit oldish, I am starting to have problems related to what I do and how I do it. I have the beginnings of arthritis in my thumbs and neck a calcified ligamant in my left shoulder and a host of other little aches and pains. I also have developed asthma Im guessing due to breathing dust. I do have systemic Lupus so I am much more prone to have these problems than others. Im just curious what you techs do to prevent and help ease these problems. I have a hard time with pedicures. I cant do more than two or three in a day without seriously hurting. I think I feel silly putting on a mask and gloves. Anyway just thought I would ask you all what if any physical problems you have had due to our line of work and what you have found helps. Happy Manicuring ;-)

I have been a nail tech for 17 years and yes, I have developed some issues too. I developed a chronic tendenitis in my right thumb and tennis elbow (right elbow).
I went to a doctor complaining about the pain and they told me to take advil (ibuprofen)
Then I went for accupuncture (2 treatements) and it didn't really help... so then a friend of mine just booked me with her therapist for accupunture. I went but I didn't believe that it would help so I never went back. After few weeks my hand and elbow started getting better and better. Finally the pain went away completely. This was about 4 years ago.