Back to salon after 8 years mobile?!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tanhead

Reaction score
Hi Geeks!

Just looking for some advice really, I have been mobile for the past 8 years and although i love my job, i have had this hankering to go back to the salon. Just a couple days a week. Don't laugh but i'm 36 and i feel it's now or never, i really miss the hub of a salon. I have a steady mobile clientele but they like me are getting older and although i love my old dears i feel i need more of a challenge...i will always have time to do their hair, they are my bread and butter after all but i would like to test myself a bit too if that makes sense??

The only thing bothering me is...am i employable? I'm happy to do anyting really. I'd fold towels, shampoo, make tea all the menial work as well as hairdressing..I'd just be happy to go back. I have a lot of experience in salon management, stock control, running reception but i just want to go back! And believe me i'm not interested in poaching clients at all!! hairdressing at home is quite restrictive...i'm just longng to wash someones hair properly in a backwash lol!!!

If you're a salon owner reading this, i'd love your feedback on employing someone like me if you wouldn't mind..

Many thanks geeks.. xxx :biggrin:

In the current climate I would only be looking for someone who had I client base to bring into the salon.. Would your mobile clients come in?

I had offered some a place in my salon on a se basis, had explained that we don't really have a lot of walk ins and she would need to bring her clients with her.. It didn't really work out, as they wouldn't come..

I avoid people who have done mobile, as I have had experience of people poaching clients.
You could always rent a chair and have your clients come to you, that way you get the best of both worlds.