Beyond MMA

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
The points mentioned by Purple Legend are so true. MMA is just one of the many issues that needs to be addressed in the nail industry. Education is another battle i have been fighting for about 4 years. I believe that we need to raise the standard by quality education, and quality suppliers of products.

While most of the companies in this industry are good, we will always have some cowboys, no matter what we do. As you all know, i am passionate about getting the NVQ, or any other recognised qualification, as a licence to trade as a nail tech, which will also help other issues. For example, in an NVQ practical assessment, you can only use industry recognised products. If your assessor does not recognise them, they will ask you to provide MSD sheets. This will list if MMA is in the monomer.

I think that we also need to hit the consumer market, and educate existing and potential nail clients to ask questions. Can i see your insurance, qualifications, MSD sheets??? etc etc etc. I encourage all my students to contact their local papers to write an unbiased feature on what to look for in a nail salon / tech.

Nail techs need to ask their suppliers for MSD sheets, dont be afraid to ask, quality companies will have no hesitation in giving them to you if they have quality products. Be proud, show off your certificates, and insurance, show that you are aware of the dangers of MMA.

Well i will stop blabbing now as i am sure most of you are asleep. All i know is that i am only a little person, with a little voice, but if all we little people stood together, then i think we could shout rather loud!!

naturalnails

Legend
Reaction score
I wholeheartedly agree that we should have MMA banned here - but after that - then what.